Khao Sok National Park to become ASEAN Heritage Park

20 Oct 2020

Good story!!! Recently, Mr. Damras Pho Prasit Director of National Park Bureau Said after the presentation meeting 'Khao Sok National Park', Surat Thani Province It is the ASEAN Heritage Park.

The Cabinet passed a resolution on June 30, 2020, to approve the presentation of the Khao Sok National Park: Suratthani and Tham Luang-Khun Nam Nang Non National Park: Chiang Rai Province to be an area of ASEAN Heritage Park.
It must be evaluated by an expert panel of the ASEAN Center for Biodiversity (ABC).

ASEAN Heritage Park It is a pilot program of 10 ASEAN member countries to manage the protected areas of the country and its networks. 
To achieve the conservation of the protected areas of the country and the network conserve and maintain together to represent the ecosystems of the ASEAN climate.

This meeting was held for officials of the National Park Service, the National Park Bureau understands and listens to the opinions of all stakeholders in the event. 
The advantage of Khao Sok National Park is the ASEAN Heritage Park, which is currently in the process of presenting it as an ASEAN Heritage Park.

Khao Sok National Park It is one of the most strikingly beautiful parks. It is the tourist center of the Gulf of Thailand and Andaman.
Each year, there are more than three hundred thousand tourists, both Thai and foreign, and tend to increase every year.
Also, the forest is fertile, there are beautiful tourist attractions, especially 'Ratchaprapa Dam' until it was ranked as one of the 8 most beautiful national parks in the world by Vogue (Vogue), a world-renowned magazine.

Which presented the Khao Sok National Park as an ASEAN Heritage Park, It is an important step forward for Thailand and ASEAN because there will be an area of more than 738.74 square kilometers. 
To be protected and maintained to maintain a complete naturalness helping the population of Thailand ASEAN region and the world.

The criteria for consideration to present the Khao Sok National Park as an ASEAN Heritage Park consists of 10 criteria as follows:

1) Ecological integrity
2) Regional representation
3) Naturalness
4) It is highly important to conservation
5) The areas protected by law
6) An approved management plan
7) Characteristics of cross-border connections\
8) Uniqueness
9) The essential link between class, city, and ecosystem
10) The importance of the diversity of precious, rare, and endangered species

Currently, 49 ASEAN Heritage Parks are belonging to Thailand in the ASEAN region, 6 of which are as follows.

1) Khao Yai National Park
2) Tarutao National Park
3) Surin Islands National Park - Similan Islands - Phang Nga Bay
4) Kaeng Krachan Forest Group
5) Angthong National Marine Park
6) Hat Chao Mai National Park - Non-hunting Area, Libong Islands